Thursday, November 3, 2011

The 2011 Winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust is..

The $25,000 winner of the 2011 Rogers Writers' Trust has been announced, the winner is Patrick deWitt for The Sisters Brothers!

The jury citation of this winning book states:

Patrick deWitt’s joyous and genre-bending, The Sisters Brothers moves along at such a rampant pace it’s easy to lose sight of what a truly original novel it is. His exploration of the blurred lines between good and evil is masterful and mesmerizing. This is the sort of material that, in lesser hands, could easily have sunk into middling farce, but deWitt’s portrayal of the homicidal brothers and the quixotic roster of characters thrown in their path is fresh, moving, insightful, and always funny. Cinematic in its scope, meditative in its tone and brilliantly inventive in its characterization, The Sisters Brothers is a book unlike any you may read during this or the coming years. Unforgettable. -The Writers' Trust of Canada, November 3, 2011

You can find this remarkable book by clicking the link at the top of the post. Enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment