Friday, October 31, 2014

Man Booker Prize Winner 2014

The winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize is Richard Flanagan for his book The Narrow Road to the Deep North

In the despair of a Japanese POW camp on the Thailand-Burma Death Railway in 1943, Australian surgeon Dorrigo Evans is haunted by his love affair with his uncle's young wife two years earlier. His life is a daily struggle to save the men under his command, until he receives a letter that will change him forever. It tells a story of death, love, and family, exploring the many forms of good and evil, as one man comes of age and prospers, only to discover all that he has lost.

Richard Flanagan was born in Longford, Tasmania, in 1961. He received a Master of Letters degree from Oxford University. His first novel, Death of a River Guide, won Australia's National Fiction Award. His works include The Sound of One Hand Clapping, The Unknown Terrorist, and four history books. He has received numerous awards including the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Gould's Book of Fish, the 2011 Tasmania Book Prize for Wanting, and the 2014 Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North. He directed a feature film version of The Sound of One Hand Clapping. (Bowker Author Biography)

We have this wonderful book in paper and as an audiobook.

No comments:

Post a Comment